Gene Demby http://wwno.org en What We Talk About When We Talk About Violence In Chicago http://wwno.org/post/what-we-talk-about-when-we-talk-about-violence-chicago We have a default template for the way we process mass shootings. We scour through every available scrap of the perpetrators' interior lives – Facebook postings, YouTube videos, interviews with former roommates — to try to find out what drove them to kill. The sites of the massacres become a kind of shorthand: Columbine, Sandy Hook, Fort Hood. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Gene Demby 64312 at http://wwno.org Dress Codes Are Open To Interpretation — And A Lot Of Contention http://wwno.org/post/dress-codes-are-open-interpretation-and-lot-contention <a href="http://www.myfoxtwincities.com/story/25951237/bar-louies-dress-code-policy-denounced-as-overtly-racist">A Minneapolis nightspot</a> called Bar Louie landed in the news after some local residents took issue with its new dress code.<p><em>No flat-billed hats. No long white T-shirts. No large chains. No sleeveless under shirts. No athletic apparel. No sports jerseys without collars. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:17:00 +0000 Gene Demby 64215 at http://wwno.org The Modest Bus Station At The Center Of A World-Changing Confrontation http://wwno.org/post/modest-bus-station-center-world-changing-confrontation <em>EDITOR'S NOTE: This summer, we'll be regularly spotlighting sites on the National Register of Historic Places that have some significance to issues of race and culture. </em><p><strong>The Montgomery Greyhound Station, </strong><strong>Montgomery, Ala.</strong><p>It seems odd to suggest that folks should visit a bus station if they're in the area; most people are trying to get out of a bus station as quickly as possible. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:49:30 +0000 Gene Demby 63678 at http://wwno.org The Desire For A Reckoning Meets The Wish For A Reset http://wwno.org/post/desire-reckoning-meets-wish-reset The title of Ta-Nehisi Coates' much-discussed cover story at <em>The Atlantic</em>, <a href="http://www.theatlantic.com/features/archive/2014/05/the-case-for-reparations/361631/">"The Case for Reparations,"</a> might be something of a misnomer.<p>Coates' opus is really calling for a collective reckoning with America's history, and he uses a call for reparations as the vehicle. He aims to disabuse readers of the notion that the most destructive policies toward black wealth creation were from some long-ago time. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 21:53:34 +0000 Gene Demby 63257 at http://wwno.org Some Of Us Sacrifice More To Stay In Home Sweet Home http://wwno.org/post/some-us-sacrifice-more-stay-home-sweet-home If it seems like we talk about housing a lot on Code Switch, it's because we do. But the fact is it's really hard to talk about all the ways race correlates to different outcomes — in health or education, say— without talking about where people live. Take household wealth, for example: The major reason whites have so much more of it is because of how much likelier they are not just to own homes, but to own homes in places where that property might appreciate in value. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 18:41:00 +0000 Gene Demby 63018 at http://wwno.org How To Tell Who Hasn't Read The New 'Atlantic' Cover Story http://wwno.org/post/how-tell-who-hasnt-read-new-atlantic-cover-story <em>The Atlantic</em> does this a lot: use the magazine's covers to launch large, provocative conversations that you later hear endlessly dissected on cable news, in the blogosphere, and on Twitter. It is a think piece factory. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 22:09:48 +0000 Gene Demby 62698 at http://wwno.org In Historic First, Native American Brothers Win Lacrosse Trophy http://wwno.org/post/historic-first-native-american-brothers-win-lacrosse-trophy The Tewaaraton Award is college lacrosse's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, given to the best player in the country each year. The award takes its name from the Mohawk word for lacrosse, as a way to honor the sport's Native American origins. The bronze trophy depicts a Mohawk man with a lacrosse stick, surging forward.<p>But no Native player had ever won the award before Thursday night's ceremony at the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Fri, 30 May 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Gene Demby 61702 at http://wwno.org In College Lacrosse, Two Brothers Flirt With Making History http://wwno.org/post/college-lacrosse-two-brothers-flirt-making-history <em>UPDATE: The Tewaaraton Award was given Thursday night to both Miles and Lyle Thompson. Wed, 28 May 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Gene Demby 61606 at http://wwno.org Young People Want Equality But Struggle To Discuss Bias http://wwno.org/post/young-people-want-equality-struggle-discuss-bias One oft-employed generalization about The Kids These Days is that they've grown up free from the legalized discrimination and racial neuroses of older generations, and they will live in a more multicultural world with less racism. But do we even know if that's true?<p>MTV, that reliable weather vane of popular youth culture, wanted to find out. Sun, 25 May 2014 21:36:34 +0000 Gene Demby 61403 at http://wwno.org How Donald Sterling Violated The NBA's Unspoken Social Contract http://wwno.org/post/how-donald-sterling-violated-nbas-unspoken-social-contract <em>We play for each other, for our fans, and for our families — not Donald Sterling.</em><p>That was the general message that players for the Los Angeles Clippers reiterated, off-mic, when the Sterling fiasco blew up over the weekend. They were being buffeted by questions about how, exactly, they might respond to allegations that Sterling, the team owner, had been recorded saying that he did not want black people to attend his team's games. <em>Would they boycott? Would they be focused enough to be able to play? Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Gene Demby 59623 at http://wwno.org