Hansi Lo Wang http://wwno.org en The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI http://wwno.org/post/harlem-hellfighters-fighting-racism-trenches-wwi The 369th Infantry Regiment served 191 days under enemy fire in Europe. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:58:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 57546 at http://wwno.org Latinos Live Longer But Struggle To Save Enough For Retirement http://wwno.org/post/latinos-live-longer-struggle-save-enough-retirement Many American workers find themselves financially unprepared for retirement. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:15:28 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 57253 at http://wwno.org These Cute Images Make Reading Chinese Characters 'Chineasy' http://wwno.org/post/these-cute-images-make-reading-chinese-characters-chineasy Growing up in Taiwan, ShaoLan Hsueh stuck out.<p>She liked writing in Chinese.<p>"I know all the children hated it, but I was a bit odd in that I loved writing Chinese characters," says Hsueh, the daughter of a Chinese calligrapher.<p>Now living in London, she later discovered that the love she had for Chinese language felt like "torture" to her two British-born children. "I found it really challenging to try to convince them that it's really cool to read Chinese," she said. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 02:04:49 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 56331 at http://wwno.org Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race http://wwno.org/post/changing-demographics-factor-rhode-islands-gubernatorial-race Parades, social clubs and awards dinners are part of the routine of political campaigns everywhere. But if you're running to be Rhode Island's next governor, then there's one more stop you just can't miss.<br /> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 12:36:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 55633 at http://wwno.org To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese http://wwno.org/post/play-part-actors-must-talk-talk-chinese The success of the Netflix series <em>House of Cards</em> lies in the details.<p>The show has consulted with <a href="http://www.boston.com/business/innovation/blogs/inside-the-hive/2014/02/21/house-cards-called-boston-hacker-gregg-housh-give-series-tech-authentic-touch/vJL9SCuowDJ7VlyE0BgC2O/blog.html" target="_blank">computer hackers</a> and <a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2014/02/19/house-of-cards-writer-on-china-u-s-and-power/" target="_blank">political scientists</a> on storylines. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 00:02:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54850 at http://wwno.org Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return http://wwno.org/post/asian-american-contestant-villain-jeopardy-set-return If there are any unwritten rules to playing <em>Jeopardy!</em> Arthur Chu may have broken them all.<p>During his four-day winning streak in late January, he sometimes interrupted host Alex Trebek and cut in before the host could finish a sentence. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 00:37:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54468 at http://wwno.org For Abused Native American Women, New Law Provides A 'Ray Of Hope' http://wwno.org/post/abused-native-american-women-new-law-provides-ray-hope This Thursday, three Native American tribes are changing how they administer justice.<p>For almost four decades, a U.S. Supreme Court ruling has barred tribes from prosecuting non-American Indian defendants. But as part of last year's re-authorization of the Violence Against Women Act, a new program now allows tribes to try some non-Indian defendants in domestic abuse cases.<p>It will be another year before the program expands to other eligible federally-recognized tribes around the country in March 2015. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54408 at http://wwno.org After Tour, Medal For WWII Japanese-American Soldiers Returns Home http://wwno.org/post/after-tour-medal-wwii-japanese-american-soldiers-returns-home <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C83Vd0Qx3sk</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:11:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54331 at http://wwno.org Walking Down The Widening Aisle Of Interracial Marriages http://wwno.org/post/walking-down-widening-aisle-interracial-marriages <em>Editor's Note: Code Switch has been engaged in a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/02/14/276543080/what-we-learned-from-our-month-long-exploration-of-xculturelove" target="_blank">month-long exploration</a> of <em>romance across racial and cultural lines</em>. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 16:53:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54175 at http://wwno.org National Puerto Rican Day Parade Reorganizes After Misuse Of Funds http://wwno.org/post/ny-attorney-general-reins-national-puerto-rican-day-parade The National Puerto Rican Day Parade will be marching down New York City's Fifth Avenue under new leadership this year.<p>On Thursday, <a href="http://www.ag.ny.gov/press-release/ag-schneiderman-joins-city-council-speaker-and-community-leaders-announcing-new" target="_blank">New York State Attorney General Eric Schneiderman announced</a> that three members of the parade's board of directors, including President Madelyn Lugo and her husband, General Coordinator Luis Rivera, have stepped down. Ten new directors will join the three remaining directors on the all-volunteer board. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 19:39:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 54083 at http://wwno.org