Shereen Marisol Meraji http://wwno.org en Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://wwno.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 57454 at http://wwno.org Pizza Chain That Markets To Mexicans Says New Promotion Isn't Profane http://wwno.org/post/pizza-chain-markets-mexicans-says-new-promotion-isnt-profane <em><strong>EDITOR'S NOTE: Fair warning - this story is about and includes the use of a Spanish-language word that some consider a profanity. </strong></em><p>Pizza PatrĂ³n is a Dallas-based chain that's generated a lot of media buzz over the years for advertising aimed at its core customer base, Mexican immigrants. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 03:07:30 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 56432 at http://wwno.org Latin Pride Swells For Mystery Model Behind Oscar Statuette http://wwno.org/post/latin-pride-swells-mystery-model-behind-oscar-statuette The 8-pound, 24-carat-gold-plated statuette that will be handed out at the Academy Awards Sunday night is said to be modeled after a real man.<p>That man's name is not Oscar.<p>It might be Emilio, Emilio "El Indio" Fernandez. He was a famous Mexican director and actor who used to live in Hollywood in the 1920s. His nickname, "The Indian," came from the Kickapoo side of his family.<p>Ask old folks in Mexico City about him, and they'll tell you they love his movies. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 22:13:52 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 56049 at http://wwno.org Pop Music Lags In Dealing With Interracial Love Anxieties http://wwno.org/post/pop-music-lags-dealing-interracial-love-anxieties <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5ywYq-dbJ4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yW_rYLoIR08</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6JCCayPG7k</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zT_SnwdPZfA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vl1-yfL_SKg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiM6hF1naXE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04ImU-Ooxvg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xhad3LnxApg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrERLeFseDA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmALA8miQY8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTULqzrhBWA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yoM4prkGCGc</p> Sun, 09 Mar 2014 21:19:20 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 55361 at http://wwno.org English Only? For Mainland Puerto Ricans, The Answer Is Often 'Yes' http://wwno.org/post/english-only-mainland-puerto-ricans-answer-often-yes Javier Fossas asked me, "Do you speak Spanish?"<p>It's complicated. I do, but I'm really insecure about my Spanish.<p>I grew up in California in a Puerto Rican family where English was the dominant language. Adults used Spanish mostly to share secrets or express frustration. So I hate the Spanish question.<p>But it turns out my penchant for English isn't unique for a mainland Puerto Rican, according to a survey of American Latinos by NPR, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Harvard School of Public Health. Sun, 02 Feb 2014 17:41:25 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 53257 at http://wwno.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://wwno.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49350 at http://wwno.org Arturo Sandoval: Free To Blow His Trumpet The Way He Wants http://wwno.org/post/arturo-sandoval-free-blow-his-trumpet-way-he-wants A former president, a media mogul and a Cuban jazz trumpeter are among the 16 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Wednesday. That Cuban jazz trumpeter, Arturo Sandoval, happened to be performing not too far away from NPR West, at The Broad Stage in Santa Monica, last Friday. So I went to pay him a visit during rehearsals.<p>A heads up: This is one of those stories that are truly an aural experience. The best way to take in Sandoval is to hear him: his wonderful accent, his exuberance, his command of his instrument. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 21:27:33 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 48675 at http://wwno.org An East L.A. Football Rivalry, Unchanged For 79 Years http://wwno.org/post/east-la-football-rivalry-unchanged-79-years An East Los Angeles rivalry has become the largest high school football game west of the Mississippi. The football teams of Garfield High School and Roosevelt High School will meet on the gridiron Friday night for the 79th year. The game is expected to draw 20,000 fans. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 20:44:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 47054 at http://wwno.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America http://wwno.org/post/whitest-historically-black-college-america It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:08:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 46218 at http://wwno.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement http://wwno.org/post/summer-63-old-lessons-new-movement <em>All this summer, NPR is looking back to civil rights activism of 1963, marking the 50th anniversary of a number of events that changed our society. From the </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/05/188727790/fifty-years-after-medgar-evers-killing-the-scars-remain">assassination of civil rights leader Medgar Evers</a><em> in Mississippi to the March on Washington; NPR is remembering the past and examining how our society has changed. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 18:46:12 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 42259 at http://wwno.org