Kelly McEvers http://wwno.org en Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://wwno.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 64336 at http://wwno.org On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://wwno.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 64160 at http://wwno.org Are Life Spans Getting Longer? It Depends On How Wealthy You Are http://wwno.org/post/are-life-spans-getting-longer-it-depends-how-wealthy-you-are While life expectancies are getting longer for those who are well off, life spans for poor women are actually getting shorter. The stories of two women, from two very different places, illustrate the reasons for the gap. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 63099 at http://wwno.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://wwno.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 61813 at http://wwno.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage http://wwno.org/post/albuquerque-police-face-federal-scrutiny-local-outrage Kenneth Ellis III was shot and killed by police in a 7-Eleven parking lot in Albuquerque, N.M.<p>He is among the dozens of people local police have shot over the last four years, 25 of whom have died. The U.S. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 61154 at http://wwno.org Pentagon Reorganizing How It Brings Home America's War Dead http://wwno.org/post/pentagon-reorganizing-how-it-brings-home-americas-war-dead Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel announced an overhaul Monday of the agencies responsible for finding, identifying, and returning the remains of servicemen lost in past wars.<p>The Pentagon spends more than $100 million a year on the effort, but last year only identified 60 of the more than 80,000 missing.<p>Hagel's undersecretary, Michael Lumpkin, says there will now be one agency to bring home lost servicemen and better communication with the families of the fallen. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 21:42:22 +0000 Kelly McEvers 57511 at http://wwno.org Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://wwno.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 57408 at http://wwno.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy http://wwno.org/post/us-grave-science-marked-risk-aversion-and-bureacracy In part two of <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica</a>, we look at the agency charged with bringing home and identifying the 83,000 American war dead. It's stymied by an extreme aversion to risk. See the <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:43:34 +0000 Kelly McEvers 56218 at http://wwno.org Dated Methods Mean Slow Return For Fallen Soldiers — Or None At All http://wwno.org/post/dated-methods-mean-slow-return-fallen-soldiers-or-none-all The agency charged with bringing home and identifying American war dead is slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods, <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">according to a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica. </a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:16:25 +0000 Kelly McEvers 56187 at http://wwno.org Dwindling Middle Class Has Repercussions For Small Towns http://wwno.org/post/reinventing-dwindling-middle-class-may-take-revolution My parents moved away from Lincoln, Ill., two decades ago, when I was in college. I hardly ever get back there. But my mom still works in Lincoln, and it was to Lincoln I headed to meet her this fall, after returning to the U.S. from the Middle East.<p>I got off the train from Chicago and immediately saw that the old depot building — where we used to go for fancy dinners before prom — was shuttered. A little monument commemorating the day Abraham Lincoln named the town in 1853 was faded and peeling. There was a man asleep on a bench at the train stop. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 47545 at http://wwno.org