Tom Cole http://wwno.org en Another Fleetwood Mac Album That's 'Worth A Damn' http://wwno.org/post/another-fleetwood-mac-album-thats-worth-damn This year saw the reissue of two vintage albums by <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/102442872/fleetwood-mac">Fleetwood Mac</a>: the hugely popular <em>Rumours,</em>and the last album to feature the band's founder, Peter Green, called <em>Then Play On</em>.<p>"I think it's one of the most beautiful records and exciting records ever made," <em>Rolling Stone</em> senior writer David Fricke says. Mon, 30 Dec 2013 20:56:08 +0000 Tom Cole 51178 at http://wwno.org Remembering Jim Hall, A Different Sort Of Guitar God http://wwno.org/post/remembering-jim-hall-different-sort-guitar-god Jim Hall was a guitar god, but not in the sense that he could blaze through a zillion notes a minute. He was worshipped by guitarists around the world, but you'd never know it from talking to him.<p>"I don't really have all that much technique anyway, so I try to the best with what I have you know," he said to me earlier this year.<p>The best he had influenced half a century of jazz musicians, earned him the National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master honor and widely designated him as one of the greatest jazz guitarists of all time. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 10:06:00 +0000 Tom Cole 49892 at http://wwno.org Paramount Records: The Label Inadvertently Crucial To The Blues http://wwno.org/post/paramount-records-label-inadvertently-crucial-blues <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyUFxp1zDRk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rjznodu3Qfs</p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 15:32:25 +0000 Tom Cole 47845 at http://wwno.org Johnny Smith, Revered Guitar Player, Has Died http://wwno.org/post/johnny-smith-revered-guitar-player-has-died <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIuIIqbyEIU</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 02:56:42 +0000 Tom Cole 37627 at http://wwno.org Richie Havens, Folk Singer Who Opened Woodstock, Has Died http://wwno.org/post/richie-havens-folk-singer-who-opened-woodstock-has-died <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tf1B9ktRCkg</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Tom Cole 33823 at http://wwno.org Saving The Sounds Of America http://wwno.org/post/saving-sounds-america We've been able to record sound for over 125 years, but many of the recordings that have been made in that time are in terrible shape. Many more, even recordings made in the past 10 years, are in danger because rapid technological changes have rendered their software obsolete. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 23:03:00 +0000 Tom Cole 29241 at http://wwno.org What A Life: The Day I Met Elliott Carter http://wwno.org/post/what-life-day-i-met-elliott-carter Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Elliott Carter died this week, a month shy of his 104th birthday. He had a huge influence on modern classical music. So in 2008, when Elliott Carter was celebrating his centennial, NPR's Tom Cole went to New York City to interview him. And he has this remembrance of what it was like to meet the storied composer.<p>TOM COLE, BYLINE: I was terrified. Sat, 10 Nov 2012 12:33:00 +0000 Tom Cole 23179 at http://wwno.org Janet Feder: An Avant-Garde Artist Takes A Real Risk http://wwno.org/post/janet-feder-avant-garde-artist-takes-real-risk <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOzinX8e9Pw</p> Sun, 22 Jul 2012 10:58:00 +0000 Tom Cole 16277 at http://wwno.org