Weekend Edition Sunday http://wwno.org en The Kentucky Sisters And Old-Time Tunes As Doorways To History http://wwno.org/post/kentucky-sisters-and-old-time-tunes-doorways-history Did you know that John F. Kennedy was a Republican? Neither did I. But that's what one of my college students guessed in a course on news writing. I asked another kid what period followed the Industrial Age and she said, "The Golden Age?" We moved on.<p>But whenever I'm tempted to despair about a generation that looks ever-forward, I buy a cupcake and a big mug of coffee. That's because Launa Reed works at a cafe in New Orleans that sells the best cupcakes in the history of cupcakes — you can quote me on that. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:53:01 +0000 Gwen Thompkins 64012 at http://wwno.org Local Views Of New Orleans' Changing School Landscape http://wwno.org/post/local-views-new-orleans-changing-school-landscape New Orleans marked a milestone last week. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:48:02 +0000 Rachel Martin & Anya Kamenetz & Sarah Carr 63631 at http://wwno.org Bringing Jazz On Walkabout: Jon Batiste And Stay Human http://wwno.org/post/bringing-jazz-walkabout-jon-batiste-and-stay-human Pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91420634/jonathan-batiste" target="_blank">Jonathan Batiste</a> was born and raised in New Orleans as part of the Batiste jazz family dynasty there. He was playing with the family band by age 8. Eventually he took his talents to Julliard, and that's where he met the rest of Stay Human: Joe Saylor on the drums, Ibanda Ruhumbika on tuba and Eddie Barbash on alto sax.<p>The band is all about avoiding formality — so with them, Batiste goes by Jon — and making jazz as accessible as possible. If that means fusing it with funk or rock or pop, no problem. Mon, 02 Dec 2013 00:07:40 +0000 NPR Staffrache 49225 at http://wwno.org Unusual Outliers In Baseball http://wwno.org/post/unusual-outliers-baseball Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "LIFE IS A BALL GAME")<p>SISTER WYNONA CARR: (Singing) Life...<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Yes, it is time for sports with NPR's Mike Pesca, but, you know, this week I wanted to hear another song. Let's hit it...<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "WE ARE FAMILY")<p>SISTER SLEDGE: (Singing) We are family, I've got all my sisters with me. We are family. Get up everybody and sing.<p>GREENE: Mike, are you there?<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: Yeah.<p>GREENE: Do you recognize this song?<p>PESCA: Well, a couple of things. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 15:11:00 +0000 David Greene & Mike Pesca 15790 at http://wwno.org German Town Separates Parking Spots By Gender http://wwno.org/post/german-town-separates-parking-spots-gender A small town in southwest German has designated two parking spaces, "men only." They're two of the town's trickiest places to park. The mayor's response, guest host David Greene reports, is that it will attract tourists. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 David Greene 15783 at http://wwno.org In Egypt, Clinton Promotes Dialogue With Military http://wwno.org/post/egypt-clinton-promotes-dialogue-military Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>Secretary of State Hillary Clinton heads for Israel today; this, after leaving Egypt, where she met with that country's new Islamist president and also, the head of the powerful military council. Secretary Clinton said Egypt needs to continue its transition to a civilian-led democracy. But that message was delivered gently, a sign that Washington sees a long and uncertain transition ahead. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 15784 at http://wwno.org Slowed Growth Reflects China's Uphill Battle http://wwno.org/post/slowed-growth-reflects-chinas-uphill-battle No country has enjoyed more spectacular growth in recent decades than China. But the economy that will one day replace America's as the world's largest also faces a lot of challenges. Guest host David Greene talks to NPR's Frank Langfitt, who was a reporter in China in the '90s and returned to Shanghai for NPR last year. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt & David Greene 15785 at http://wwno.org A View From Inside The Governors' Meeting http://wwno.org/post/view-inside-governors-meeting Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear was one of the state leaders attending the Governors Association meeting this weekend. Host David Greene talks with the Democrat about the hot topics at this year's gathering in Williamsburg, Va. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 David Greene 15786 at http://wwno.org U.N. Tries To Reconcile Accounts Of Killings In Syria http://wwno.org/post/un-tries-reconcile-accounts-killings-syria U.N. investigators visited the site of a mass killing in Syria. Their initial report cites a targeted attack on the village of Tremseh, but have been unable to confirm the death toll. The Syrian government says it was an anti-terrorist operation and no civilians were killed. Guest host David Greene talks to NPR's Deborah Amos. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 David Greene & Deborah Amos 15787 at http://wwno.org Babushkas Sing For The Good Of Their Village http://wwno.org/post/babushkas-sing-good-their-village Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And let's travel to a different part of Russia now.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>BABUSHKAS OF BURANOVA: (Singing in Russian)<p>GREENE: These are the Babushkas of Buranova.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>BURANOVA: (Singing in Russian)<p>GREENE: Buranova is a tiny village 600 miles east of Moscow. I went there last year to meet a dozen or so women who were making quite a name for themselves. They treated me to this song as I walked into one of their homes. Babushka is Russian for grandmother and these women are mostly in their 70s and 80s. Sun, 15 Jul 2012 11:22:00 +0000 David Greene 15788 at http://wwno.org