Weekend Edition Saturday http://wwno.org en Between Friends, Family And Country, Ukrainian Police Lie Low http://wwno.org/post/between-friends-family-and-country-ukranian-police-lie-low <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onRu5am9Rx0</p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 58380 at http://wwno.org School Lunch: Any Chicken In Those 'Food-Like Nubbins'? http://wwno.org/post/school-lunch-any-chicken-those-food-nubbins It took a Freedom of Information Act to get the Chicago Public Schools to disclose what's in the chicken nuggets they serve in their cafeterias. NPR's Scott Simon reveals the chemical contents. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 14:05:00 +0000 editor 58370 at http://wwno.org Iran's Culture Wars: Who's Winning These Days? http://wwno.org/post/irans-culture-wars-whos-winning-these-days In Iran, hardline critics are waging a campaign against President Hassan Rouhani to limit his campaign pledge of opening Iran to more social and cultural freedoms.<p>The "culture wars" are as old as the Islamic revolution that swept conservative clerics to power more than three decades ago. The latest chapter comes as Rouhani is negotiating a nuclear deal with six world powers. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 58369 at http://wwno.org A Sheep Killer Is On The Loose In 'All the Birds, Singing' http://wwno.org/post/sheep-killer-loose-all-birds-singing Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Jake Whyte is a young woman who lives in a wild, windy, bloody world. She lives alone, save for her dog, whose name is Dog, and the sheep she tends on a small island off the coast of Britain. The men who work on the island call Jake a good bloody bloke, although many locals wonder why strangers come into their midst. It can't be the work or the weather, which are tough and raw - raw like the mysterious scars on Jake's back. Jake White is at the center of the Evie Wyld's new novel "All the Birds, Singing." Evie Wyld joins us now from the BBC in London. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 editor 58376 at http://wwno.org A Year After Bombings, Boston Comes Back 'Strong' http://wwno.org/post/year-after-bombings-barnicles-boston-stronger-ever Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. Boston Strong has become an American phrase over the past year after bombs exploded at the finish line of last year's Boston Marathon. Three people were killed - Krystle Marie Campbell, who was 29, Lu Lingzi, a graduate student from China, and Martin William Richard, an 8-year-old boy. At least 264 people were injured, many of them losing legs and arms. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 editor 58377 at http://wwno.org Jackie Collins' Mob Princess Serves Up A Cookbook You Can't Refuse http://wwno.org/post/jackie-collins-mob-princess-serves-cookbook-you-cant-refuse Lucky Santangelo is a household name — at least, in those households where the shelves are packed with Jackie Collins novels. And considering there are more than 500 million copies sold, well, Santangelo's certainly got a fan base.<p>She's the heroine, more or less, of seven Collins novels, including <em>Vendetta: Lucky's Revenge</em>, <em>Dangerous Kiss, Drop Dead Beautiful</em>, and <em>Goddess of Vengeance</em>. And Santangelo herself is a bit all of those things: the beautiful daughter of a former mob boss who has her own way of making offers people can't refuse. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 NPR Staff 58378 at http://wwno.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://wwno.org/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-test President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 16:32:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 57836 at http://wwno.org 'Hotel Rwanda' Manager: We've Failed To Learn From History http://wwno.org/post/hotel-rwanda-manager-weve-failed-learn-history Paul Rusesabagina is a figure from history — a terrible history.<p>He was the manager of the Diplomat Hotel in Kigali, Rwanda, 20 years ago, when the genocide of Rwanda's Tutsi people began. More than 800,000 Tutsis and moderate Hutus would be killed in just three months.<p>While most of the world took no action to stop the killing, Rusesabagina sheltered more than 1,000 people inside his hotel. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 15:46:00 +0000 NPR Staff 57837 at http://wwno.org 'In Paradise,' Matthiessen Considers Our Capacity For Cruelty http://wwno.org/post/paradise-matthiessen-considers-our-capacity-cruelty At age 86, Peter Matthiessen has written what he says "may be his last word" — a novel due out Tuesday about a visit to a Nazi extermination camp. It's called <em>In Paradise,</em> and it caps a career spanning six decades and 33 books.<p>Matthiessen is the only writer to ever win a National Book Award in both fiction — for his last book, <em>Shadow Country,</em> and adult nonfiction for his 1978 travel journal, <em>The Snow Leopard</em>.<p>Matthiessen is filled with the vitality of past adventures as he leads a tour of his country-style home on the East End of Long Island. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 11:52:00 +0000 editor 57824 at http://wwno.org For Syrian Refugees, 'Life Has Stopped' http://wwno.org/post/syrian-refugees-life-has-stopped Syrian refugees have flooded into Lebanon since the war began. The UN said this week that 1 million refugees are now in the country. NPR's Scott Simon and Alice Fordham discuss the impact. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 11:52:00 +0000 editor 57825 at http://wwno.org