Paul Maassen http://wwno.org en 'Tell Me More' To End August 1 http://wwno.org/post/tell-me-more-end-august-1 <p>Dear WWNO Listeners:</p><p>NPR recently shared the news that the network will end production of <em>Tell Me More</em> on August 1, 2014. This was a decision that NPR made for strategic as well as budgetary reasons. WWNO was not involved with this decision.</p><p>NPR believes the issues and perspectives that Michel Martin and the <em>Tell Me More</em> show team have brought to public radio should be infused into every aspect of NPR's journalism.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 19:08:08 +0000 Paul Maassen 61131 at http://wwno.org Interviews: French Market Director Jon Smith http://wwno.org/post/interviews-french-market-director-jon-smith <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The French Market Corporation — which oversees the six city blocks of the <a href="http://www.frenchmarket.org/" target="_blank">French Market</a> proper, the <a href="http://upperpontalba.org/" target="_blank">Upper </a></span><a href="http://upperpontalba.org/" target="_blank">Pontalba</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://upperpontalba.org/" target="_blank"> Building</a>, Jackson Square, parking lots, and much more — has a new executive director.</span></p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:33:57 +0000 Paul Maassen 54807 at http://wwno.org Historic New Orleans Collection Exhibit Examines Occupation Of City During Civil War http://wwno.org/post/historic-new-orleans-collection-exhibit-examines-occupation-city-during-civil-war <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Orleans, the largest and most prosperous city in the antebellum Deep South, spent the Civil War in fetters, occupied by Union troops in late April 1862.</span></p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 16:45:14 +0000 Paul Maassen 46971 at http://wwno.org John Georges, New Owner of The Advocate: 'New Orleans Wants a Daily Paper' http://wwno.org/post/john-georges-new-owner-advocate-new-orleans-wants-daily-paper <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Advocate is Louisiana’s largest daily print newspaper, based in Baton Rouge. As of last week, it has a new owner.</span></p> Wed, 08 May 2013 12:03:00 +0000 Paul Maassen 34829 at http://wwno.org Times-Picayune Editor Jim Amoss Discusses The Launch Of TPStreet http://wwno.org/post/times-picayune-editor-jim-amoss-discusses-launch-tpstreet <p>The Times-Picayune and NOLA.com have announced that the company will once again publish a physical paper seven days a week.</p><p>But it won’t be the full newspaper. Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays readers will find a shorter, tabloid sized publication at newsstands — instead of the empty space they see now. It will not available for home delivery. WWNO’s Paul Maassen sat down with Times-Picayune editor Jim Amoss to talk about the new product.</p><p></p> Wed, 01 May 2013 17:31:19 +0000 Paul Maassen 34418 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Awarded Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Roadmaps to Health Prize http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-awarded-robert-wood-johnson-foundation-roadmaps-health-prize <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Orleans is one of six cities in the United States to receive the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's </span><a href="http://www.rwjf.org/en/about-rwjf/newsroom/newsroom-content/2013/02/new-orleans--louisiana--2013-roadmaps-to-health-prize.html" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Road Maps to Health Prize</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a $25,000 award dedicated to improving health at the population level.</span></p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 14:51:27 +0000 Paul Maassen 31142 at http://wwno.org Include WWNO In Your Year-End Giving Plans http://wwno.org/post/include-wwno-your-year-end-giving-plans <p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 17:24:20 +0000 Paul Maassen 23749 at http://wwno.org Bamboula Take Three: The Legacy of Congo Square http://wwno.org/post/bamboula-take-three-legacy-congo-square <p>WWNO presents the world broadcast debut of the jazz composition, "Bamboula Take Three: The Legacy of Congo Square." Mon, 15 Oct 2012 02:00:00 +0000 Paul Maassen 21571 at http://wwno.org Meet James Boyd, the LPO's new Managing Director http://wwno.org/post/meet-james-boyd-lpos-new-managing-director <p>The Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra kicks off their 22nd season this Saturday night, September 22nd, with their Night of Nights concert with conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto, and feature artist Joaquin Achúcarro on piano.</p><p>WWNO's Paul Maassen spoke with James William Boyd, the LPO's new Interim Managing Director, about the upcoming season and how he became involved with the LPO.</p><p>Learn more about this performance and the entire&nbsp;LPO season at <a href="http://LPOmusic.org" target="_blank">LPOmusic.org</a></p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 13:20:25 +0000 Paul Maassen 20451 at http://wwno.org Examining New Orleans Six Years After, and Your Responses http://wwno.org/post/examining-new-orleans-six-years-after-and-your-responses <p>Paul Maassen and Dr. Ed Chervenak, Director of the <a href="http://poli.uno.edu/unopoll/index.cfm" target="_blank">UNO Survey Research Center</a>, discuss the state of our vital civic institutions in the years since Hurricane Katrina and the storm&#39;s aftermath, and examine your responses and&nbsp;to our week-long series and&nbsp;the results&nbsp;of&nbsp;&nbsp;UNO&#39;s New Orleans&nbsp;Quality of Life Survey&nbsp;<span style="display: none">&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 25 May 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Paul Maassen 12005 at http://wwno.org