Robert Christgau http://wwno.org en A Tuneful Conversation With A Sometimes-Distant God http://wwno.org/post/tuneful-conversation-sometimes-distant-god The wry and tuneful Withered Hand is Dan Willson, a graphic artist from Edinburgh who drifted away from the Jehovah's Witnesses as a teenager — but not, you get the feeling, with a satisfied mind. His moniker is a scriptural reference, and he named his 2009 debut <em>Good News</em>, one way Christians refer to the New Testament. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 05:37:18 +0000 Robert Christgau 57083 at http://wwno.org Album Review: 'English Oceans,' By Drive-By Truckers http://wwno.org/post/album-review-english-oceans-drive-truckers Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The band Drive-By Truckers are in their third decade playing alternative country music tinged with Southern pride. Critic Robert Christgau says they put out a great album in 2008 then hit a lull. But he says their latest album, out this week, is a true comeback.<p>ROBERT CHRISTGAU, BYLINE: I confess I had no idea what the title song of the Drive-By Truckers' "English Oceans" was about until I read the press kit. Oh, it's Mike Cooley's poetic take on how Republican operative Lee Atwater imagined the male, white, Southern psyche. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:01:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 55242 at http://wwno.org Latyrx: Still Deft And Defiant After Two Decades http://wwno.org/post/latyrx-still-deft-and-defiant-after-two-decades <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsvEx3r_Uvs</p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 02:49:30 +0000 Robert Christgau 47669 at http://wwno.org Sam Baker's 'Say Grace' Is At Once Beautiful And Broken http://wwno.org/post/sam-bakers-say-grace-once-beautiful-and-broken Sam Baker has a backstory that must be told. In 1986, at age 31, he was traveling by train in Peru when a bomb from the terrorist group Shining Path exploded right next to him. The little girl he'd been talking to was killed along with half a dozen others, and his own injuries required 18 operations. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 20:53:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 42680 at http://wwno.org Aesop Rock And Kimya Dawson Showcase Their Strengths http://wwno.org/post/aesop-rock-and-kimya-dawson-showcase-their-strengths <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Q_7fT-vSXU</p> Tue, 14 May 2013 19:16:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 35348 at http://wwno.org Marc Ribot Isn't Trying To Comfort Anyone http://wwno.org/post/marc-ribot-isnt-trying-comfort-anyone After six years as a sideman for many soul veterans, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/17083894/marc-ribot">Marc Ribot</a> made his name in 1985 with <em>Rain Dogs</em>, the album that marked <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15295750/tom-waits">Tom Waits</a>' permanent transition from eccentric singer-songwriter to truly weird singer-songwriter. Ribot has held down straight gigs since then, but his work has tended toward the avant-garde. Tue, 30 Apr 2013 19:52:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 34370 at http://wwno.org Jonny Fritz: A Country Jester Gets Personal http://wwno.org/post/jonny-fritz-country-jester-gets-personal <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2_RIg0vZPQ</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2013 00:16:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 34067 at http://wwno.org Homeboy Sandman: A Rapper Leaves Law Behind http://wwno.org/post/homeboy-sandman-rapper-leaves-law-behind The bare facts of Homeboy Sandman's back story don't sound very hip-hop: prep school in New Hampshire, Ivy League B.A., even some pieces for The Huffington Post. But, as is often the case with class and race in America, bare facts don't tell the whole story.<p>Sandman's Dominican-born father was a gifted heavyweight who quit boxing to become a lawyer. His Puerto Rican mom graduated from college around the time her son was winning his third scholarship, this time to law school. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 17:36:43 +0000 Robert Christgau 25442 at http://wwno.org Big K.R.I.T.: Big Heart, Thick Drawl http://wwno.org/post/big-krit-big-heart-thick-drawl <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137107219/big-k-r-i-t">Big K.R.I.T.</a> will turn 26 in August and seems halfway to stardom. His Def Jam debut, <em>Live from the Underground</em>, will feature a <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15402961/b-b-king">B.B. King</a> cameo and is scheduled for a June 5 release. It should hit the charts high.<p>Although he's never had an official album, he's been releasing free mixtapes regularly since 2005. His 2010 <em>K.R.I.T. Wuz Here</em> won him a contract with Def Jam. 2011's <em>Return of 4Eva</em> made many top 10 lists. Fri, 25 May 2012 20:11:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 12097 at http://wwno.org By This 'Beak And Claw,' A Trio Shall Synthesize http://wwno.org/post/beak-and-claw-trio-shall-synthesize <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15121560/sufjan-stevens">Sufjan Stevens</a> is a classically trained singer-songwriter whose recent work has leaned symphonic. <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/92313933/son-lux">Son Lux</a> is a classically trained beatmaker whose solo albums do indeed evoke luxury. Serengeti is a self-trained rapper who creates voices for a panoply of full-fledged characters who range from scufflers to yuppies. Wed, 23 May 2012 20:42:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 11873 at http://wwno.org