Where Y'Eat http://wwno.org en Where Y'Eat: Exploring The Latin Deli At Norma's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-exploring-latin-deli-normas <p><em>Eating your way through the deli — and falling for impulse-buy ceviche — at a new Latin American market in Mid-City.</em></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 23395 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Stalking Greens At The Vietnamese Market http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-stalking-greens-vietnamese-market <p class="legacy-byline"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As the sun comes up on Saturday mornings, the crowd is already out at the Vietnamese farmers market in far eastern New Orleans. Like any farmers market, it's a place where vendors and regular shoppers look like they're right at home, conducting face-to-face commerce with familiar people, discussing their fresh-from-the-soil produce and chatting between sales. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 1714 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A Second Round Of Flavor Memories At Frankie & Johnny's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-second-round-flavor-memories-frankie-johnnys <p><em>The revival of a classic backstreet seafood restaurant helps restore more than just a roster of familiar dishes.</em></p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62353 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Father’s Day Feasts, With A Side Of Baloney http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-father-s-day-feasts-side-baloney <p><em><span class="userContent">Father’s Day, food and being there when the stories start percolating around the table.</span></em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dad cooked a lot of the breakfasts when I was growing up. Pancakes were usually the order of the day, but no matter what he was making the meal usually included a little baloney.</span></p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62337 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A New Look For New Orleans Barbecue http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-new-look-new-orleans-barbecue <p><em>There is a growing number of options for New Orleans barbecue fanatics, and, at new shop in particular, a distinctly local view at the smoker. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It can be a tricky business to declare something a "golden age" while you’re right in the midst of it. That sort of analysis is usually better left to hindsight. But still, for barbecue fanatics, there has probably never been a better time to be alive and eating in New Orleans than right now.</span></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:33:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62026 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Pop-Up Restaurants Go Permanent http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-pop-restaurants-go-permanent <p>After building familiarity and followings,&nbsp;one-time pop-up dining concepts are making the leap to become fulltime restaurants around New Orleans.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 61631 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Red Beans, Po-Boys And A Hearty Greek Heritage http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-red-beans-po-boys-and-hearty-greek-heritage <p><em>Tracing the roots of a widespread network of New Orleans restaurateurs back to one Greek island and one shared American story.</em></p><p>“Opa<span style="line-height: 1.5;">!” that’s the universal Greek exclamation of joy, and you’ll be hearing it a lot this weekend as the Greek Festival returns to the Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral in Lakeview. But for some of those sharing in the </span>opa<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> spirit, the toast is about more than just the revelry of the moment.</span></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 61153 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: When Suppertime Meets Showtime http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-when-suppertime-meets-showtime <p><em>New Orleans is obsessed with food and music, but how often do they share equal billing under the same roof here? We've</em><em>&nbsp;scouted some new and old favorite options, from barbecue with blues to contemporary jazz with Creole flavors. </em></p> Thu, 15 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 60650 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Not-So-Simple Math For Restaurant Growth http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-not-so-simple-math-restaurant-growth <p><em>From physical expansions to spin-offs to a high-profile second concept, ambitious chefs are finding different ways to expand while keeping the dining options coming.</em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Open a burger joint or coffee shop and the path to expansion can be as clear as a roadmap: find a good location and replicate.</span></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 60158 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Food Finds Around Jazz Fest http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-food-finds-around-jazz-fest <p>The enterprising neighbors and opportune eats in the colorful neighborhood around the New Orleans Jazz &amp; Heritage Festival make for an appetizing scene before or after the show.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Everyone knows you should be ready to eat during a day at Jazz Fest. But no one says you have to show up starving. And on the way back out, I’ve found it’s a good idea to have a little room in the tank too, to be ready for opportune eats.</span></p> Thu, 01 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 59849 at http://wwno.org