Here & Now http://wwno.org en Why This Gaza Ceasefire Is Holding http://wwno.org/post/why-gaza-ceasefire-holding The latest ceasefire between the militant group Hamas and Israel appears to be holding, allowing thousands of Palestinians to return home and Israelis to send children back to school without worrying about rocket fire.<p>&#8220;The odds &#8212; and I&#8217;m being cautious here &#8212; favor traction for this ceasefire unlike all the others, and the reasons I think are very clear. Wed, 27 Aug 2014 19:56:00 +0000 editor 66980 at http://wwno.org 'Exoskeleton' Lets Some Paraplegics Walk Again http://wwno.org/post/exoskeleton-lets-some-paraplegics-walk-again One of the great dreams of the medical research world is to help paralyzed people who are unable to use their legs, to be able to walk again.<p>Implanting electrode stimulators into injured spinal cords has shown some promise. Stem cell spinal cord regeneration has been elusive so far. Wed, 27 Aug 2014 18:56:00 +0000 editor 66979 at http://wwno.org Snapchat Reportedly Valued At $10 Billion http://wwno.org/post/snapchat-reportedly-valued-10-billion The Wall Street Journal <a href="http://online.wsj.com/articles/snapchat-fetches-10-billion-valuation-1409088794" target="_blank">is reporting</a> that the Silicon Valley venture capital firm Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers has agreed to invest in Snapchat at a valuation of around $10 billion.<p><strong>Derek Thompson</strong> of The Atlantic joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Sacha Pfeiffer to take a look at why the photo messaging app is valued so high, even though it has very little revenue.<p><h4>Guest</h4> <ul> <li><strong><a href="http://www.thea Wed, 27 Aug 2014 18:56:00 +0000 editor 66981 at http://wwno.org Senate Tracker: Colorado, The New Swing State http://wwno.org/post/senate-tracker-colorado-new-swing-state In the latest installment of Senate Tracker, our weekly look at Senate races across the country, <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Sacha Pfeiffer turns to <strong>Megan Verlee</strong> of Colorado Public Radio for a look at the race there.<p>Republican Congressman Cory Gardner is trying to unseat Democratic incumbent Senator Mark Udall, in a race that is very close and is bringing issues of women&#8217;s rights and the president&#8217;s health care law into play.<p><ul> <li><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/tag/senate-tracker" target="_blank">See more in o Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 66923 at http://wwno.org Volvo Rolls Out First New SUV Under Chinese Ownership http://wwno.org/post/volvo-rolls-out-first-new-suv-under-chinese-ownership The Volvo XC90 makes it debut today. It&#8217;s the first Volvo model to be released by Zheijiang Geely Holding Co., the Chinese company that took over the Swedish brand from Ford in 2010.<p>The XC90 is the first Volvo in about a decade to be made without Ford Motor parts. Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 66928 at http://wwno.org 35 Years Later, Kate Bush's Stage Return Has Fans Buzzing http://wwno.org/post/35-years-later-kate-bushs-stage-return-has-fans-buzzing When British singer-songwriter Kate Bush announced that she would return to the stage after a 35-year absence, her devoted fans immediately began snapping up tickets.<p>All 77,000 seats for her series of London concerts sold out in 15 minutes, with fans planning to fly in from around the world. Tonight is the first show.<p>Arts reporter <strong>John Wilson</strong> of the BBC, who has interviewed the reclusive singer several times, joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Robin Young to listen to some of Bush&#8217;s music and talk about why she inspires such Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 66922 at http://wwno.org What Sound Can Tell You About Dangerous Places http://wwno.org/post/what-sound-can-tell-you-about-dangerous-places Sound artist <strong>Peter Cusack</strong> travels the world recording sounds from dangerous places. Mon, 25 Aug 2014 19:34:00 +0000 editor 66829 at http://wwno.org Pediatricians Group: Delay School Start Times So Teens Can Sleep http://wwno.org/post/pediatricians-group-delay-school-start-times-so-teens-can-sleep Many studies have shown that the average adolescent doesn&#8217;t get enough sleep, and that can cause physical and mental health issues. The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is now recommending middle and high schools delay their class start times to 8:30 a.m. or later.<p>Dr. Mon, 25 Aug 2014 19:34:00 +0000 editor 66830 at http://wwno.org Burger King... Of Canada? http://wwno.org/post/burger-king-canada Burger King, the American fast-food restaurant operator, is looking to buy Canada’s coffee and doughnut chain Tim Hortons.<p>Burger King announced yesterday the two companies are in talks to form a deal that it says would help it compete with similar companies.<p>Skeptics say it would allow Burger King to move its headquarters to Canada, lowering its tax bill. Mon, 25 Aug 2014 19:34:00 +0000 editor 66831 at http://wwno.org Legal Battle Could Prevent Opening Of Popular Utah Ski Mountain http://wwno.org/post/legal-battle-could-prevent-opening-popular-utah-ski-mountain Park City, Utah, is best known for the famous Sundance Film Festival that it hosts every winter, as well as being home to one of the most popular ski resorts in the country: Park City Mountain Resort.<p>But the future of that mountain, and the 2014-2015 ski season, is now up in the air because of a protracted and very public fight over the rights to the slopes.<p>After the longtime operators of <a href="http://www.parkcitymountain.com/site/index.html" target="_blank">Park City Mountain Resort</a> (PCMR) were late renewing their lease several years ago, the landowner signed a different lease fo Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:52:00 +0000 editor 66714 at http://wwno.org