All Things Considered http://wwno.org en Lorin Maazel, World-Renowned American Composer, Dies At 84 http://wwno.org/post/lorin-maazel-world-renowned-american-composer-dies-84 Maazel was born in 1930 in Paris, and was a child prodigy. By the time he was a teenager, he had conducted most of the major American orchestras. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 64355 at http://wwno.org The Best Movies Of The Year — From 20 Years Ago http://wwno.org/post/best-movies-year-20-years-ago From Forrest Gump, to Pulp Fiction, to the Lion King, to Quiz Show, 1994 was a momentous year in film, according to a series from the website Grantland. NPR's Kelly McEvers talks with Grantland's Wesley Morris about that year's movies and why they're worth remembering. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 64356 at http://wwno.org Kurdish Authorities Plan Referendum On Independence From Iraq http://wwno.org/post/kurdish-authorities-plan-referendum-independence-iraq NPR's Kelly McEvers talks to Middle East correspondent Leila Fadel about the rift between Iraqi Kurds and Iraq's central government in Baghdad. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 64357 at http://wwno.org Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://wwno.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 64336 at http://wwno.org Heading Home To Ohio, LeBron Returns To Cleveland Cavaliers http://wwno.org/post/heading-home-ohio-lebron-returns-cleveland-cavaliers Four years after famously leaving, NBA superstar LeBron James has decided to return to the team where he started his professional career. Many fans in Cleveland say they're excited to have him back. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 21:20:00 +0000 editor 64337 at http://wwno.org Truckers Strike At LA Port, While Dock Worker Talks Continue http://wwno.org/post/truckers-strike-la-port-while-dock-worker-talks-continue Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. I'm Kelly McEvers. There's been tension this week at the ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach. Mind you, this is the largest port complex in the U.S. A place where 40 percent of the cargo arriving to the country passes through. More than 100 short-haul truck drivers at the ports are on strike. These are the guys who move cargo off of container ships and into warehouses and rail yards. Many of them work as independent contractors, meaning they have to pay for their own vehicles and they don't get benefits. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 21:20:00 +0000 editor 64338 at http://wwno.org Are Organic Vegetables More Nutritious After All? http://wwno.org/post/are-organic-vegetables-more-nutritious-after-all There may never be an end to arguments over whether organic food is more nutritious. But a new <a href="http://csanr.wsu.edu/program-areas/m2m/research-areas/nutritional-quality/bjn-2014/">study</a> is the most ambitious attempt so far to resolve the issue — and it concludes that organic fruit and vegetables offer a key benefit.<p>It's a scientific reply to an <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/09/04/160395259/why-organic-food-may-not-be-healthier-for-you">analysis</a> that some researchers at Stanford University published two years ago. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Daniel Charles 64307 at http://wwno.org Feds Tighten Lab Security After Anthrax, Bird Flu Blunders http://wwno.org/post/feds-tighten-lab-security-after-anthrax-bird-flu-blunders In the course of trying to understand a laboratory accident involving anthrax, officials at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention stumbled upon another major blunder — involving a deadly flu virus.<p>The flu incident apparently posed no health risk, but it went unreported to top brass for six weeks. Those officials now recognize a <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/07/09/330038131/researchers-aghast-over-discovery-of-smallpox-vials">pattern of problems</a> in their world-class laboratory. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Richard Harris 64306 at http://wwno.org Veterans Kick The Prescription Pill Habit, Against Doctors' Orders http://wwno.org/post/veterans-kick-prescription-pill-habit-against-doctors-orders For many people with post-traumatic stress disorder, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2012/01/16/144672190/ending-nightmares-caused-by-ptsd">sleeping can return you to the worst place</a> you've ever been, at the worst possible moment.<p>"I always see his face," says Will, who did tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the Army. "And in my dreams it's the same thing. ... I always walk over to him, and instead of this Afghani kid that's laying there, it's my little brother."<p>The memory that triggers Will's nightmare happened during his tour in Afghanistan. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:59:00 +0000 Quil Lawrence 64302 at http://wwno.org House GOP Plows Forward With Plans To Sue Obama http://wwno.org/post/house-gop-plows-forward-plans-sue-obama House Republicans are pushing ahead with a plan to sue President Obama, accusing him of trying to sidestep Congress and make his own laws.<p>But the president is also using the suit, which is considered a long shot in legal terms, to score political points.<p>House Speaker John Boehner says the lawsuit will focus on the administration's decision to postpone the requirement in the Affordable Care Act that large employers provide health insurance for their workers.<p>But the White House describes the suit as a "taxpayer-funded political stunt," and the president used it as a convenient punch lin Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 64304 at http://wwno.org